top of page

The Power of Theatre

Lots of little girls say they want to be actresses. They want fame, a big house, a pretty face, nice dresses. That’s because the type of actresses most little girls see are the ones in magazines and big hollywood movies. You find, even as a teenager, some girls still want that, and that’s okay- but acting, to me, is definitely not that.

My parents sent me to drama classes in hopes I could put my energy and passion for expression, as a bubbly six year old, into theatre. I got the hang of it very quickly and loved to lose myself in other characters. I never stopped wanting to act, it was an indescribable feeling. As I got a little older, an annoying pre-teen, it started to become a more beautiful thing in my eyes- the adrenaline of leaving yourself in the wings and hiding yourself behind someone completely different changed the way I felt completely. It did something truly magical.

Nowadays, I truly hate myself- the side effects of being a teenager I suppose. I rarely ever feel complete, a sort of emptiness. However, there’s always one exception to that. When I’m on stage and talking and moving like someone I’m not- every breath of mine no longer being mine- It’s so raw, so real. There’s so much irony in that. I am most myself, when I am not.

Theatre does something truly amazing. How a group of people can transform a mass of human and staging to make emotion, live, right in front of people’s eyes; who are all dissimilar but all share this one great experience.

So many people underestimate the power of live theatre. What it does for the actor, as well as the audience. For me, it’s not just a career choice or a hobby of mine, it’s a devotion, a passion and a way of life. Usually, I’d say I don’t believe in forever, but I never want to stop doing theatre (be it backstage or on stage), not ever.

@barmecideflowers on Instagram.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Snapchat - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page