top of page

What Happened When I deleted My Instagram...

What Happened When I Deleted my Instagram...

I

t has been about 1 year since I deleted my Instagram and it has been memorable. Let's start with the beginning and why I deleted my account. It was drawing to the end of summer break near freshmen year and I had gone through a roller coaster. People that I personally knew and I saw on the app became pixelated- fake like. I felt that Instagram was a conversation starter for gossip and self-worth due to the amount of likes you have on a photo. I was so fixed on the amount of likes and followers I had, I started to lose my authenticity and began to disconnect for the real world. As these thoughts were going around in my head, a well-known instagramer named Essena O'Neill deleted her social media and spoke out about her thoughts that were going on behind the screen and lens. I felt the same way about instagram. After contemplation, i said goodbye and deleted my account. I needed to be free from people from my past and being glued to a screen. To be honest, deleting it wasn't the easiest thing in the world. I faced a lot of FOMO thoughts. Fast forward a bit to a few months later. I felt so much better that I wasn't glued to my screen and payed attention to things that truly mattered. However, me being a visual person, taking photos is a very crucial part in my life. Due to my overwhelming amount of photos that I taken, I decided to put up a photo wall of pictures I've taken. #1. It makes my room look cute and #2. I like it way better than instagram because it seems more personal. Now with people from my past that I followed on Instagram. Well they did not do anything really. Some people asked if I deleted my account and others that I barely talked to just asked recently if I did. My thoughts now: Well, it feels good! I'm not on my phone 24/7 and I feel happier. In the end, I'm not telling you to delete your instagram. This is just my experience and what happened. Just do whatever to make you happy and at you best self. Even the little things like deleting a simple account can change your life.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Snapchat - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page