top of page

Tea with Scrapbook Club: Greenbox Shop


We recently sat down with Kayla, the owner of Greenbox Shop and talked about advice, social problems and much more! So Grab some tea and lets begin!

SB: What was it like launching your own brand?

GBS: It’s so amazing and so much fun. It’s so challenging but so rewarding because being my boss has taught me so much. I’ve grown so much as a person because of this business. I couldn’t imagine living any other way, I can literally go to work in my pajamas and twerk all day if I want, I’m really grateful for that.

SB:What's the ethos behind your brand/ the slogans on your tees?

GBS: I’m really invested in social justice. As a black woman I don’t really have the luxury not to pay attention to societal issues. I feel like it’s my mission in life to make a positive difference in my world in the best way I can. In our society there are way to many people with the “mine” mentality. It seems like we are all walking around with our hearts closed off. I'm currently teaming up with different charities to donate 25% of my profit to their efforts. With this business I really hope to make a difference with the powerful messages displayed on my tees and with the financial help I’m providing to community organizations.

SB: Do you think that it's important for youth to be immersed in social problems and why?

What's your opinion on social media use for teens?

GBS: I think it’s extremely important for young people to be involved. Young people are blessed with time, energy, and intelligence. The way this society operates strategically places limitations on young people to keep them from using their potential to really create change (intense schooling, conveying to children that they are powerless and “too young for that”, etc.) I think that social media is such a powerful tool. We have the ability to reach mass audiences instantly, I just wish we all understood that we have the power to initiate change. Social media is such a brilliant tool but so many people don’t see it that way.

SB: Any advice for entrepreneurial teens?

GBS: Save your money, read books, explore your creative ability, and don’t forget about self care.

SB: Fave Halloween candy?

GBS: Watermelon sour patch kids all the way

SB: Fall favourites?

GBS: Honestly, I live in Florida so I didn’t even know that it was fall yet. Our only seasons are hot and warm. Flannels are pretty rad though

SB: Any advice you would give to our readers (mainly teenage girl audience)?

GBS: Take all the time you need to focus on getting your shit together. Don’t be afraid to put your health first. I never was too involved in school and I always made it a point to cut off friends & partners who made my life toxic. These were the best decisions I’ve made because now at the age of 17 I feel like I’m thriving and I am so proud of the person that I am now.

Thank you so much to Kayla, for having us interview her! Make sure to check out the cool clothing on her website!

Follow her here: @greenboxshop_

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Snapchat - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page