top of page

an Interview with Ali

We sat down with 14 year old artist Ali and discussed her amazing art skills that she showaces on instagram: @aliinei and living in the 21st century as a teen.

SC:What or who is or are your biggest inspirations in art?

Ali: Hmm I’m honestly not completely sure, when I’m working on a drawing I have to listen to music. The music I listen to while I draw does have any influence on the style I go for! I tend to be inspired by random artists that I find and I love looking through their art. So I would say music and other artists.

SC:Who or what inspired you to create your style?

Ali: Well a few different things actually, I have always been artistic and I’ve always loved to draw and do creative things in general, but one thing that held me back is that I personally can’t hand draw so I started to mess around with digital art and different apps and looking at digital art that other artists have made and that really inspires me. My style which is a style that’s rather popular but still very cool and creative.

SC: How do you feel about social media?

Ali: I think social media is a good thing to an extent. However, for artists and people looking to put their art out into the world, then social media is definitely a good thing in a sense. It is also very helpful in spreading awareness about certain issues or topics that some people might not have known about if media wasn’t the way it is where everyone can see and find anything, which again that can be a good thing for artists! If you do take social media the wrong way, it can get to you and especially if your more on the side of social media where everyone looks ‘perfect’ and the perfect this or that and that, can definitely take a toll on you and how you view yourself because you begin to compare yourself to these ‘perfect’ people. In my opinion, social media is a bad thing and an unhealthy thing. Ultimately, I think social media is both good and not so good for the reasons I explained and a few others as well, it really all depends on how you personally view social media.

SC:How do you feel about teens today being raised in a technology based society?

Ali: Well I am a teen who is a part of technology based society so in my opinion I don’t think it’s a bad thing that our generation is based upon technology. With the way the world is now it would be a whole lot worse if we didn’t have technology and weren’t able to connect to entire world and be able to know what’s happening across the world, because of that most teens are aware of a lot more, aware on topics like social justice, feminism, gender sexuality, etc.… and that is such a good thing to be aware and properly educated on those topics. Technology can be a bad thing at times with bullying and the other bas things that have come about because of social media and the people behind the accounts. Technology does go far beyond your phone or computer though; technology is new research on cures for diseases and scientific improvements and so many things in your everyday life that you might not even notice.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Snapchat - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page