top of page

Freshen Up Your Room

Hey everyone! My name is Ellie, I am a 14 year old from Australia and my instagram is @pearlsandpeoniesblog I'm so excited because this is the first time I have written an article for a magazine. About a month ago I was inspired to start a blog account on instagram because I’ve always enjoyed interior design, styling and taking photos so I though I’d just give it a go and I’m really enjoying it! In this article I will share some organisational hacks and room decor that I use or have used in the past.

If you follow me on instagram you would know that I love plants and taking photos of them - they are pretty photogenic. But what I love about them most is they really brighten up a room and make it feel more welcoming and alive! Even if you have one or two fake plants (they are just as good at the real thing in my opinion) it can really make a big difference. What is also great is there are so many to choose from and you can personalise them with a cute planter to suit your style.

Mason jars. Need I say more? They are everywhere and have been for a while now but there’s a good reason! They are so cute and very versatile. I’m sure you’ve all seen it; mason jar salads, mason jar plants, mason jar candles etc. But I use my mason jars to store pencils and pens on my desk, because it makes such a pretty and colourful display!

This next one is a little storage hack I learnt from YouTube. You simply stick some magnetic tape onto a suitable surface (I had mine on my dressing table) and you will never have that frantic, last minute search for a bobby pin again.

I love liquid chalk. It’s so awesome to be able to write on my mirrors and windows and just wipe it off! I have pink liquid chalk (I can’t wait to get more colours!) and I write my to do list and reminders on my mirror so I can easily see it and I never forget. It is also great to decorate windows with drawings or your favourite words and make it look really pretty with different colours too.

Lastly, when decorating your bedroom or space don’t forget to be loud and proud. It’s just like fashion, choose a style or décor piece because it expresses you or it’s something you like, not because it is ‘on trend’.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Snapchat - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page